Community Advisory Board

The MVTCP’s Community Advisory Board (CAB) facilitates community input into MVTCP activities, funded and emerging research projects and promotes awareness of the MVTCP among community stakeholders. The CAB is comprised of nearly 30 members, including cancer survivors, current/former smokers, parents of adolescents, other community members, non-profit community agencies, coalitions, and public health agencies. Co-chaired by members, including a cancer survivor, the CAB has provided important input into the design, methods and implementation of numerous research projects; assisted with project recruitment; and helped with the dissemination of research findings at conferences and other public events.

CAB is staffed by Jessica Jones, MVTCP Outreach Coordinator, whose responsibilities include: planning and hosting quarterly meetings; coordinating meeting activities with CAB co-chairs; administrating contacts with CAB members; and corresponding with CAB members about MVTCP activities and events.

Under the CAB, a Teen and Parent (TAP) Committee works specifically on HPV vaccine-related projects and other projects relevant to teens.  Consisting of around 25 mothers, fathers, and children ages 10-18, this committee has provided invaluable input into the development and implementation of a social marketing campaign focused on increasing pre-teen vaccinations (including HPV vaccine).

The Smoking Cessation Committee works specifically on projects related to tobacco use and programs designed to help people quit smoking. [more detail?}

CAB Member Organizations and Representatives:

Cervical Cancer Coalition of Tennessee
Navita Gunter, President
gunter.navita@gmail.com
http://cervicalcancercoalitiontn.org

Matthew Walker Comprehensive Health Center, Inc.
Marilyn Adams, Health Educator
madams@mwchc.org
www.mwchc.org

Metro Public Health Department, Nashville/Davidson County
Thoris Campbell, Regional Program Coordinator
thoris.campbell@nashville.gov
http://www.nashville.gov/Health-Department.aspx

Nashville General Hospital, Smoking Cessation Clinic
Latonya King, Family Nurse Practitioner  and Clinical Educator
www.nashvillegeneral.org

Progreso Community Center www.progresocommunitycenter.org

Rev. Calvin C. Barlow, Jr, Pastor
Second Missionary Baptist Church
smbc1902@hotmail.com

CAB Community Members:

Ukela T. Alred
Teen and Parent Committee

Joan Clayton-Davis
Community Member

Sheila Dorse, CAB Co-Chairperson
Cancer Survivor, Teen and Parent Committee
sheiladorse@gmail.com

Jo Hicks
Community Member

Paula Lewis Hill
Cancer Survivor
paula.hill43@gmail.com

Ila McDermott, M.Ed.
Cancer Survivor, Teen and Parent Committee
ila.mcdermott@vanderbilt.edu

Audrey Oden,
Teen and Parent Committee
odenaf1995@gmail.com

Cheryl Seay, PhD
Smoking Cessation Committee
cseay1@tnstate.edu

Other Academic Researchers

Leah R. Alexander, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor
Meharry Medical College
lalexander@mmc.edu

Juan Canedo, DHSc, Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
Meharry Medical College
jcanedo@mmc.edu

Jennifer Cunningham Erves, PhD, Assistant Professor
Meharry Medical College
jerves@mmc.edu